Committees to Provide Food and Seed, 1846

Recommend Me! Suggest This Page To A Friend!

Submitted by Christine Gorman

Committees to Provide Food and Seed, 1846

April 20th, 1846, Council Office:

From The Islander, April 24, 1846:

His Excellency the Lieutenant Governor, in Council, was this day pleased to appoint the following persons in conjunction with the Road Commissioners of the several Districts, to constitute Committees for the purpose of carrying into effect the provisions of an Act passed in the last Session of the Colonial Legislature, intituled

"An Act to provide Seed and Food for certain settlers, and to regulate the distribution thereof and mode of re-payment." viz: -

District No. 1. - Nicholas Conroy, Esq., Tignish; Henry Heil, Malcolm McNeill, Allan Forsyth, Esq., Robert Hardy, and John Hughes.

District No. 2. - James Kinlay, Esq., Lot 7; Colin Leech, Lot 8; Neil McKinnon, Lot 9, John Moorside, Lot 10; George Ellis, Lot 12, and James Yeo, Esq.

District No. 3. - Maxime Gallant, Lot 15; Melim Arsineaux, Lot 16; Charles Ramsay, Lot 17; James E. S. Bagnall, Lot 14; James Yeo and Allan Fraser, Esqrs.

District No. 4. - George Ramsay, Princetown Royalty; Alexander McLellan, Indian River, Lot 18; John McDonald, Lot 21; Alexander Rae, and Donald Montgomery, Esqrs.

District No. 5. - Isaac Schurman, Bedeque; Stephen Wright, Esq., Bedeque; John Clark, Esq., Cape Traverse; Richard Hudson, and Samuel E. Dawson, Esqrs., and John Leard, sen., Tryon.

District No. 6. - C. Birch Bagster, Esq., Mill Vale; Wm. Hodges, Esq., Rustico; Joshua Doirant,Rustico; Alexander Laird, New Glasgow; Richard Bagnall, Lot 22; and Thomas Haslam, Lot 67.

District No. 7. - John McEwen, Lot 65; Thomas Tod, Esq., Lot 29; William Lowther, Lot 29; Thomas Fairbairn, Esq., Lot 30; Thomas Kett, Lot 31; and William Crosby, Lot 32.

District No. 8 - Alexander McGregor, and James McCallum, Esqrs., Lot 33; John Moore, North River, and John Horne, Winsloe Road.

District No. 9 - Edward Lane, Donaldston; Roderick McDonald, Cross Roads; Alexander McDonald, Maple Hill; and Michael Hughes, Lot 36.

District No. 10. - Francis Kelly, Fort Augustus; James McDonald, Portage, Lot 35; Robert Mutch, Lot 43; Charles Haszard, Esq., Lot 49; Alexander McDonald, (North Pole), Lot 50; and Alexander McLean, Esq.

District No. 11. - James Munn, Wood Islands; John McDonald, Pinette; Richard Curran, Newton; John McDonald, (Charles), Orwell; Richard Atkinson, Belfast; and William Douse, Esq.

District No. 12. - John McVarish, (Back Farms), St. Peter's; John McDonald, Allisary; John Leslie, Schooner Pond Mills; and Murdoch Murray, St. Peter's Bay.

District No. 13. - James Dingwell,(Pond), Bay Fortune; John McIntosh, Esq. Lot 43; Donald McKinnon, (Roderick's son), Lot 41; and James Martin (Shoemaker), Lot 55.

District No. 14. - Lawrence Peters, Rollo Bay; Alexander Fraser, Lot 47; Elisha Morrow, East Point; and John McDonald, sen., Lot 44.

District No. 15. - Henry Gordon, Brudenell River; William Alley, head of Cardigan; James McLaren, (Town Road), Lot 51; and Martin Halloran, Lot 66.

District No. 16. - Philip Beer, head of Montague River; Benjamin Clow, Esq., Murray Harbour; John Dalziel, Lot 63; and David Crichton, Lot 61.

Dave Hunter and The Island Register: HTML and Graphics© 2003

Last Updated: 05/04/2003 0:42:12 AM
Return to Top!
[ Return to Fenceviewers and Lists Page!] | [Return to Main Page! ]