Postmasters, 1851

Recommend Me! Suggest This Page To A Friend!

Submitted by Christine Gorman

Royal Gazette July 28, 1851.

COUNCIL OFFICE, July 4, 1851.

The Imperial regulations respecting the Post Office of this Colony having ceased to be in authority, and the colonial act having come into operation, the functions of all Offices under the Imperial acts having terminated; the following appointments have been made by His Excellency, the Lieutenant Governor in Council:–

Barrett's Cross– William Glover
Bay Fortune – William Underhay
Bedeque – Colin McLennan
Belfast – Joseph Atkinson
Cape Traverse – Hector Campbell
Cascumpec– Alexander Maggieson
Cavendish – Daniel McNeill
West Cape – James Kinlay
Fairfield – Patrick Kavanagh
Georgetown – Martin Byrne
Lot 16 – James Lyle
Lot 47 – Alexander M'Vane
Mount Pleasant – Michael Egan
Murray Harbor – John Dalziel
New Glasgow – Andrew Nesbitt
New London – Duncan M'Intyre
Park Corner – William Cousins
Port Hill – James Craswell
Princetown – George Sinclair
St. Eleanor's – James I. Fraser
St. Margaret's – Donald M'Donald
St. Peter's – John Jardine, Jun.
Souris – James M'Farlane
Tignish – Martin Walsh
Traveller's Rest – John Townsend
Tryon – Thomas Hockin
Vernon River – Mathew Redmond
White Sands – William Bell


Dave Hunter and The Island Register: HTML and Graphics© 2003

Last Updated: 11/27/2003 3:33:45 PM
Return to Top!
[ Return to Fenceviewers and Lists Page!] | [Return to Main Page! ]